Every product on this page is a registered veterinary chemical, and every claim below is attributed to the manufacturer's own Australian product page, accessed on 18 September 2026 (full list in Sources). None of this is medical advice; always read the product label and talk to a vet about a specific pet.
The choice is not really "which brand." It is four separate questions, and the label answers all four:
- Which parasites does it cover? Some products treat fleas only. Others add paralysis tick. Others add heartworm prevention. Others add intestinal worms (roundworm, hookworm, whipworm, tapeworm). A handful cover all of the above in one chew or spot-on.
- Which route? A chew, a spot-on applied to the skin, or a collar.
- How often? Monthly is the most common interval, but several paralysis-tick products are dosed every two weeks for the tick claim specifically, and a collar can run for months on one application.
- From what age and weight? Every label sets a minimum, and they are not all the same.
Products stocked in the dog flea and worming range and the cat flea and worming range are grouped below by what their manufacturer states they cover. The full range sits at flea, tick and worming.
Dogs: what each product covers
Built only from facts confirmed on each manufacturer's Australian page. "Yes" for paralysis tick means the label states control of Ixodes holocyclus; the duration in brackets is the manufacturer's stated coverage window where it differs from the main dosing interval.
| Product | Route | Interval | Fleas | Paralysis tick | Heartworm | Intestinal worms | Min age |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NexGard | Chew | Monthly | Yes | Yes | No | No | 8 weeks / 2 kg |
| NexGard Spectra | Chew | Monthly | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes (roundworm, hookworm, whipworm) | 8 weeks / 1.35 kg |
| Bravecto Chew | Chew | 3-monthly (fleas, paralysis tick) | Yes | Yes (3 months) | No | No | 8 weeks / over 2 kg |
| Bravecto Spot-On (dogs) | Spot-on | 6-monthly (fleas, paralysis tick) | Yes | Yes (6 months) | No | No | 8 weeks / 2 kg or more |
| Simparica | Chew | Monthly | Yes | Yes | No | No | 8 weeks / 1.3 kg |
| Simparica Trio | Chew | Monthly | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes (hookworm, roundworm) | 8 weeks / 1.25 kg |
| Advantage | Spot-on | Monthly | Yes | No | No | No | From birth |
| Advantix | Spot-on | Every 2 weeks for paralysis tick; monthly for fleas and the rest | Yes | Repels/kills (2-weekly dosing) | No | No | 7 weeks |
| Advocate | Spot-on | Monthly | Yes | No | Yes | Yes (roundworm, hookworm, whipworm) | 7 weeks |
| Credelio Plus | Chew | Monthly | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes (roundworm, hookworm, whipworm) | 8 weeks / 1.4 kg |
| Seresto | Collar | 8 months (fleas, paralysis tick); 4 months (brown dog, bush tick) | Yes | Yes (8 months) | No | No | 7 weeks |
| Frontline Plus | Spot-on | Monthly (fleas); every 2 weeks (paralysis tick) | Yes | Yes (2-weekly dosing) | No | No | 8 weeks |
| Revolution (dogs) | Spot-on | Monthly | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Not stated on this page | 6 weeks |
| Drontal | Tablet | 3-monthly | No | No | No | Yes (roundworm, hookworm, whipworm, tapeworm) | Dosed by weight |
| Milbemax | Tablet | 3-monthly for worms; monthly if also used for heartworm | No | No | Yes (if dosed monthly) | Yes (roundworm, hookworm, whipworm, tapeworm) | 2 weeks / 0.5 kg |
| Interceptor Spectrum | Chew | Monthly | No | No | Yes | Yes (roundworm, hookworm, whipworm, tapeworm) | 2 weeks, any weight |
| Heartgard Plus | Chew | Monthly | No | No | Yes | Yes (roundworm, hookworm only) | 6 weeks |
| ParaGard | Tablet | 3-monthly (puppies also at 2, 4, 8, 12 weeks) | No | No | No | Yes (roundworm, hookworm, whipworm, tapeworm incl. hydatid) | 2 weeks |
| Fido's All Wormer | Tablet | Not stated on the maker's page | No | No | No | Yes (roundworm, hookworm, whipworm, tapeworm) | Not stated |
Cats: what each product covers
| Product | Route | Interval | Fleas | Paralysis tick | Heartworm | Intestinal worms | Min age |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NexGard Spectra | Spot-on | Monthly | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes (roundworm, hookworm, tapeworm, lungworm) | 8 weeks / 0.8 kg |
| Bravecto Spot-On | Spot-on | 3-monthly | Yes | Yes (3 months) | No | No | 9 weeks / 1.2 kg |
| Bravecto Plus | Spot-on | 3 months flea and tick protection (pack claim); MSD directs every 2 months where heartworm prevention is needed | Yes (3 months) | Yes (approx. 10 weeks) | Yes | Yes (roundworm, hookworm) | 9 weeks / 1.2 kg |
| Advantage (cats) | Spot-on | Monthly | Yes | No | No | No | From birth |
| Advocate (cats) | Spot-on | Monthly | Yes | No | Yes | Yes (roundworm, hookworm) plus lungworm | 9 weeks |
| Revolution | Spot-on | Monthly | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Not stated on this page | 6 weeks |
| Revolution Plus | Spot-on | Monthly | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes (roundworm, hookworm) | 8 weeks / 1.25 kg |
| Frontline Plus | Spot-on | Monthly | Yes | No (label points to Frontline Spray for tick areas) | No | No | 8 weeks |
| Drontal (cats) | Tablet | 3-monthly | No | No | No | Yes (roundworm, hookworm, tapeworm) | 6 weeks |
| Milbemax (cats) | Tablet | 3-monthly for worms; monthly if also used for heartworm | No | No | Yes (if dosed monthly) | Yes (roundworm, hookworm, tapeworm) | 6 weeks / 0.5 kg |
| Seresto (cats) | Collar | 8 months (fleas, paralysis tick); 4 months (bush, brown dog tick) | Yes | Yes (8 months) | No | No | 10 weeks |
| Fido's All Wormer | Tablet | Not stated on the maker's page | No | No | No | Yes (roundworm, hookworm, tapeworm) | Not stated |
Paralysis tick: read the label
Paralysis tick (Ixodes holocyclus) cover is not automatic just because a product treats fleas. On the manufacturer pages checked for this guide, NexGard, NexGard Spectra, Bravecto (all four variants), Simparica, Simparica Trio, Credelio Plus, Seresto, Frontline Plus and Revolution Plus all state paralysis tick control, each for the duration set out in the tables above. Advantix's label states it repels and kills ticks with a two-weekly dosing schedule for the tick claim specifically, shorter than its monthly flea interval. Advantage, Advocate, plain Revolution and Frontline Plus for cats do not carry a paralysis tick claim on the pages checked; Frontline's own cat page points owners toward Frontline Spray for tick protection instead of Frontline Plus. Products that are worming-only or heartworm-only (Drontal, Milbemax, Interceptor Spectrum, Heartgard Plus, ParaGard, Fido's All Wormer) do not claim any tick or flea control. Bravecto's dog pages add a standing caution regardless of duration: daily tick searching is recommended because, as the label states, "the risk of tick paralysis cannot be entirely eliminated."
Chews, spot-ons and collars
A chew is swallowed and works from inside the bloodstream; NexGard, NexGard Spectra, Bravecto Chew, Simparica, Simparica Trio, Credelio Plus, Interceptor Spectrum and Heartgard Plus are all chews. A spot-on is applied to the skin, usually between the shoulder blades, and several labels (Bravecto, Frontline Plus) ask for a dry period afterwards before bathing or swimming. A collar is a single application that keeps working for months: Seresto's label states up to 8 months of flea and paralysis tick protection from one collar, with a shorter 4-month window for brown dog tick, bush tick and the tick-borne diseases ehrlichiosis, babesiosis and anaplasmosis. None of these formats is universally faster or slower against every parasite; the manufacturer page for each specific product is what states its own speed and duration claims, and those are what is reproduced in the tables above.
Puppies and kittens
Minimum ages vary by product rather than by format. On the labels checked, Advantage states it is safe from birth for both puppies and kittens (via a treated nursing mother before weaning). ParaGard and Interceptor Spectrum allow puppies from 2 weeks of age, Milbemax for dogs from 2 weeks and 0.5 kg, Heartgard Plus and Revolution from 6 weeks, Milbemax for cats and Drontal for cats also from 6 weeks, Advantix from 7 weeks, Advocate for dogs from 7 weeks and Advocate for cats from 9 weeks, and NexGard, NexGard Spectra, Bravecto (dog and cat variants), Simparica, Simparica Trio, Credelio Plus, Revolution Plus and Frontline Plus all set an 8-week minimum. Seresto's label allows dogs from 7 weeks and cats from 10 weeks. Always check the specific product's own label rather than assuming a whole brand family shares one age cut-off.
Worming on its own
Three products in the range are all-wormers with no flea, tick or heartworm claim: Drontal, Milbemax and Fido's All Wormer. Drontal's Australian label (now published by Vetoquinol, which took over the Drontal and Profender brands for Australia from Elanco) states it is "fast and effective against roundworm, hookworm, whipworm and tapeworm" for dogs, and against "roundworm, hookworm and tapeworms" for cats, dosed every 3 months for adults (more often in hydatid or whipworm-problem areas). Milbemax treats the same four dog worms and three cat worms every 3 months, and its label notes that dosing it monthly instead adds heartworm prevention. Fido's All Wormer, made by Mavlab, is a praziquantel and fenbendazole tablet covering roundworm, hookworm, whipworm and tapeworm (including hydatid species) for both dogs and cats, dosed by body weight.
How to choose
- Work out which parasites actually matter for the pet's area and lifestyle: fleas only, fleas plus paralysis tick, or fleas plus tick plus heartworm plus worms.
- Check the label's stated interval against how reliably the treatment will actually be given; a monthly chew missed by a few weeks leaves a gap that an 8-month collar does not.
- Confirm the pet's exact age and weight against the specific product's stated minimum, not a general assumption about the brand.
- If there are cats in the house, note that Advantix's own label states it is dangerous to cats and calls for keeping a treated dog separated from cats for up to 48 hours.
- If heartworm and intestinal worms both need covering alongside fleas and ticks, look at the combination products in the tables above (NexGard Spectra, Simparica Trio, Credelio Plus, Revolution Plus, Bravecto Plus) rather than stacking single-purpose products.
Browse the full range in flea, tick and worming, or go straight to dog flea and worming or cat flea and worming.
Sources
Product facts in this guide are taken from the manufacturers' own pages listed below and from the product listings on this site; general care points are given as practical guidance, not veterinary advice. Last reviewed 17 September 2026.
- Boehringer Ingelheim: NexGard for Dogs
- Boehringer Ingelheim: NexGard Spectra for Dogs
- Boehringer Ingelheim: NexGard Spectra for Cats
- Boehringer Ingelheim: HeartGard30 Plus
- Boehringer Ingelheim: ParaGard
- MSD Animal Health: Bravecto Chews for Dogs
- MSD Animal Health: Bravecto Spot-On for Dogs
- MSD Animal Health: Bravecto Spot-On for Cats
- MSD Animal Health: Bravecto Plus for Cats
- Zoetis: Simparica
- Zoetis: Simparica Trio
- Elanco: Advantage for Dogs
- Elanco: Advantage for Cats
- Elanco: Advantix
- Elanco: Advocate Spot-On for Dogs
- Elanco: Advocate Spot-On for Cats
- Boehringer Ingelheim: Frontline Plus for Dogs
- Boehringer Ingelheim: Frontline Plus for Cats
- Zoetis: Revolution
- Zoetis: Revolution Plus
- Elanco: Credelio Plus
- Elanco: Seresto for Dogs
- Elanco: Seresto for Cats
- Elanco: Milbemax for Dogs
- Elanco: Milbemax for Cats
- Elanco: Interceptor Spectrum
- Vetoquinol Australia: Drontal for Dogs
- Vetoquinol Australia: Drontal for Cats
- Mavlab: Fido's All Wormer Tablets